How I fell in love with England

Today, I want to share my trip to Brighton, London and the Seven Sisters with you. I visited my best friend Lisa whom I haven’t seen in a long while and who studies in Brighton.

You’re really lucky to be friends with someone who has a lot of knowledge about the place you intend to visit. Since we both have similar passions, it was just the perfect match for a great adventure! If you like to travel, then take someone with you who is uncomplicated, has some of the same interests as you and who you enjoy being around with for some time. Otherwise your dream holiday can turn into a nightmare. Fortunately, I couldn’t find someone better to travel with (except for my boyfriend maybe).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So here are the places we recommend to explore:

Brighton

Before I visited Brighton, I didn’t know what to expect. Maybe some small maritime houses in the pier area and for the rest just some random shops and cafés. That’s why I was so amazed when Lisa took me to the Lanes on my first day. I was overwhelmed by the free and artsy spirit, the lovely bakeries and amazing art shops. You could really feel the city’s soul, passion running through its streets like blood through veins. My mood lightened up immediately and I felt like I was ment to be there, like I somehow belonged there even though I’ve never been to Brighton before. It was magical.

shops: WORKSHOP  |  abodeliving  |  ODE  |  Posh Totty  |  OLIVER BONAS  |  lavender room  |  HOME SENSE  |  TIGER  |  HEAL’S  |  Rose Hill
food: Shakeaway  |  wagamama  |  Krispy Kreme Doughnuts  |  little bird café  |  bluebird tea

London

We forgot the camera. That was the first thing we thought while catching the train to London. Since we only had one day and a full schedule though, it was actually convenient not to carry a heavy extra bag. First stop was the St. Paul’s Cathedral which was really amazing. We took like forty pictures of it, but I’m not gonna annoy you with them.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

On the way to the Globe theatre I got roasted almonds which brightened my mood – I forgot my cold hands and our freezing companion, the wind. We then stumbled through the masses of people at the Borough Market until we got to the V&A museum which I had wanted to visit for ages. First, we kind of struggled with the map, but after that we enjoyed the art around us. The whole building is actually a piece of art. I love its architecture and beautiful color.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Of course we also went to Camden Market. I don’t have any pictures though, because first my hands were freezing and my phone died of the cold (it does that a lot recently) and second because we were on the tough quest of cronuts which we didn’t find because all the bakeries were already closed and the doughnut stand had run out of them.

After some shopping at Oxford Circus we went to Nando’s and let the evening end on a cozy note. If you love chicken (they also have vegetarian meals though) then that’s the place to eat!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Seven Sisters

I would like you to get a feeling of the heavenly atmosphere at Seven Sisters. Therefore my next words will be a bit more poetic.

photo credit for the pictures where I am in:  Lisa

miramondays_freelikeabird

miramondays_seaview

miramondays_flyaway

It’s freezing. The wind blows like a powerful angry god and jeopardizes your vision as you cover your face with shivering fingers. Your walk is slow, head down, so you don’t trip over loose rocks. Then you pause for a second to look around you and freeze in amazement. The sun has come out, surrounds your skin like a soft blanket and paints the world in golden hues. Your eyes linger on the flat surface of the ocean which mirrors the beautiful colors of an afternoon sky. Waves splash onto the shore with the grace and vigouresness of ballet dancers. The cliff stays immaculate, charming you with sandy colors that are highlighted by a few sun beams. You inhale the fresh air and forget the icy wind, messy hair and clouded mind. It’s just you and nature. Right there. In that moment. Your soul is free. Your heart enchanted. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

miramondays_landscape

You definitely have to visit that place, it is absolutely breathtaking!

I hope you enjoyed this post!
What is your favorite place? Do you have any interesting shops/cafés/museums to add?
Let me know in the comments.

P.S. Since some people asked, the comment button is at the top of the post and your e-mail address is optional (;

P.P.S. linked at Nähfrosch + missredfox

2 thoughts on “How I fell in love with England

  1. Liebe Mira,

    schön, dass Du Deinen Post bei mir verlinkt hast (ich musste tatsächlich moderieren, in Deinem Post muss der Link zu meinem konkreten Post und nicht die Hauptadresse meines Blogs angegeben werden).

    Schön auch, dass Dein Post nette Erinnerungen hervorruft, wir haben mal zwei Jahre in London gewohnt und ich liebe diese Stadt! An den anderen Plätzen, die Du beschreibst, war ich nicht, die kommen dann auf die Wunschliste 😉

    Viel Spaß beim Bloggen und weiterhin tolle Ideen für Deine Posts!

    Liebe Grüße,
    Ioana

    Like

    • Liebe Ioana,
      vielen Dank für deinen lieben Kommentar! Ja, London ist echt eine wunderschöne Stadt und ich bin jedes Mal froh, wenn ich die Gelegenheit habe, dort Zeit zu verbringen. Sollten sie auf jeden Fall, es sind echt tolle Orte an denen man sich nicht sattsehen kann und an denen man viel erleben kann! Lassen jedes Künstler- und Dekoherz höher schlagen 😉
      Es freut mich, dass dir mein Post gefallen hat! Selber auch weiterhin viel Freude am Bloggen und bis zum nächsten Sonntag 😉

      LG
      Mira

      Like

Leave a Reply

