project I: creating a cozy space

So this is actually my first post on this blog and that’s why I choose to write about arranging my student apartment, beginning with the living room. It has been a lot of fun, and even though I was a bit scared that the colors wouldn’t match (more about that later), everything turned out as I hoped it would.

If you want to redecorate your living room or simply be inspired by the hues and shapes I used, here you go! First, you’ve got to decide what kind of atmosphere you want to create. Do you want to go for a stylish black and white interior, a soft pastel,  or a bright neon one?

Then you can get started. If you know how to use Indesign, you can easily transform the room and furniture measurements into the program and visualize the top view of the desired interior. Don’t panic if you don’t have these programs, then just go on websites like gomoodboard to create beautiful moodboards per drag&drop. You can also move the images around and play with it as you wish.

Interior-seite4

Above you see the top view of the room and the colors are similar to the real ones. Since I bought the gray couch and beige rug at different stores, I wasn’t sure if the colors would itch in real life and I couldn’t exactly see from the pictures if the laminate floor was too reddish.

My boyfriend told me to just go for the rug and see what happens – a great idea because it turned out to look very good! Thanks to the rose eyecatchers here and there, and the white walls and furniture, the gray and the beige complement eachother instead of ruining the atmosphere.

Here are some close-ups of the coffee table decor:

IMG_9574plant: local market   |   pot: Ikea   |   pillows + blanket: Ikea + Yve decoration  |   I used to be a design student   |   Cereal mag   |   white house: xenos

 

IMG_9578black&white pillow: Butlers   |   large vase: xenos   |   white candle holder (rosegold on the inside): bloomingville   |   medium vase: Light & Living

 

IMG_9640

Actually there are no pictures on the wall yet. I’m still deciding which of my own paintings I will hang and which prints to buy somewhere else. I’ve already got an eye on some works by Vee Speers, Paolo Roversi, Hilde Mork, Silke Bonde and Playtype.

IMG_9646

I hope you enjoyed this post! There will come some more about the living room, like my favorite corner… You’ll see (;

What do you think of the color combination? How would you decorate your living room?
Let me know in the comments below.

 

P.S. I’m so in love with the Pantone 2016 color Rose Quartz & Serenity!

P.P.S linked at Ladystil

7 thoughts on “project I: creating a cozy space

    • Thank you Yvette! I’m happy you enjoyed it! Next week, I’m gonna write about my trip to Brighton and London. The week after you’ll be able to see my favorite corner 🙂
      Have a great day!

      Like

  1. I love this!
    Grey and light pink were some of my favorite color schemes this summer; I redecorated my bedroom with the same palette! I love that the pink accents make a cool, grey, chic room look just a little bit more feminine, without looking too girly!

    Like

    • Thank you Paige! Wow, that’s nice. Yeah right, for ages I banned the pink/rose color from my interior and clothes but when you get the right hues it doesn’t look too girly 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

